Input your search keywords and press Enter.


Held at the River Bank Park Plaza hotel in Lambeth, the event was attended by over 400 guests. This included over 60 Labour MPs and peers, including several members of the shadow cabinet. They were joined by assembly members, mayors, local councillors and other members of the Labour family, alongside trade union leaders and distinguished figures from the business community.

The evening’s keynote speeches were delivered by Shadow Chancellor of the Exchequer John McDonnell MP and Mayor of London Sadiq Khan. Speeches were also given by General Secretary Jennie Formby, Shadow Secretary of State for Education Angela Rayner MP, and Shadow Minister for Small Businesses Bill Esterson MP who presented awards, and by Shadow Secretary of State for Women and Equalities Dawn Butler MP, Baronness Shami Chakrabarti and Lord Adonis, who received award the Shadow Cabinet Member of the Year and Peer of the Year awards. The evening was hosted by comedian, broadcaster, and political commentator, Ayesha Hazarika. Entertainment was provided by musician Paul Stanworth, his band and Julia Othmer.

Speaking at the awards, Ibrahim Dogus, Co-Chairman of SME4Labour, highlighted the strengths of current Labour SME policies and called for the next Labour manifesto to go even further. Discussing prospects for SMEs in the context of Brexit and fast-moving geopolitics, Mr Dogus stresses that “it is vital that the voice of small and medium enterprise is not lost amidst all the noise” and reaffirmed the joint interests of Labour and small businesses, in generating local jobs and providing the glue which holds communities together.

Many speech makers commented on how encouraging it was to see women so well represented at the awards. In his speech, Sonny Leong, Co-Chairman of SME4Labour, highlighted the importance of shattering glass ceilings for women, saying “If women started businesses at the same rate as men, there’d be one million more entrepreneurs in the UK.”

For more photos please click here.

SME4Labours new annual report can be found here.

SME4Labour relies on the kind donations of it supporters to continue to do its work. Please consider making a contribution.  



Trade Union of the Year Award


Fire Brigades Union – WINNER

Communication Workers Union

Union of Shop, Distributive and Allied Workers


Outstanding Contribution Award

Fabian Women’s Network


Labour Council of the Year Award

Islington Council

Manchester City Council – WINNER

Liverpool City Council

Hounslow Council


Socialist Society of the Year Award

LGBT Labour

Disability Labour – WINNER


Shadow Cabinet Member of the Year Award

Diane Abbott MP

Rebecca Long-Bailey MP

John Healey MP

Dawn Butler MP – WINNER


MP of the Year Award

Alison McGovern MP – WINNER

Tulip  Siddiq MP

Dan Carden MP

David Lammy MP

Ruth Cadbury MP


Labour Peer of the Year Award

Baroness Shami Chakrabarti – WINNER

Lord Maurice Glasman

Lord Michael Cashman

Lord Andrew Adonis – WINNER


Elected Mayor of the Year Award

Philip Glanville (Hackney)

Damien Egan (Lewisham)

Rokhsana Fiaz (Newham) – WINNER

Constituency Labour Party of the Year Award

Ilford South


Wolverhampton North

Liverpool Walton – WINNER


MEP of the Year Award

Lucy Anderson

Seb Dance – WINNER

Richard Corbett – WINNER

Julie Ward


MSP of the Year Award

Monica Lennon

Johann Lamont

Jenny  Marra

Neil Findlay – WINNER


London Assembly Member of the Year Award

Unmesh Desai AM

Florence Eshalomi AM

Leonie Cooper AM

Joanne McCartney AM – WINNER

Dr Onkar Sahota AM


Labour Councillor of the Year Award

Cllr DannyThorpe

Cllr Matthew Brown

Cllr Aydin Dikerdem

Cllr Clare Coghill – WINNER

Cllr Melvin Collins

Cllr Mete Coban

Cllr Abdul Hai

Cllr Andrea Mann

Cllr Jas Athwal – WINNER


Friends Group of the Year Award

Labour Friends of USA

Labour Friends of Palestine and the Middle East – WINNER

Labour Friends of Bangladesh